History of South Dakota vol 1 title page

Biography of Cora W. Carpenter M.D.

Dr. Cora W. Carpenter, a dedicated physician and surgeon, has made significant contributions to the medical profession in Sioux Falls. Born in Des Moines, Iowa, she completed her education in Fargo, North Dakota, before pursuing her medical studies at the College of Physicians and Surgeons affiliated with the University of Illinois. With a strong professional enthusiasm and extensive technical knowledge, Dr. Carpenter established herself in Sioux Falls in 1902. Her exceptional skills and compassionate approach have earned her great success, evident in her well-equipped office located in the Minnehaha building. Dr. Carpenter’s commitment to her profession and unwavering dedication to her patients continue to inspire and uplift the community.

Biography of Cora W. Carpenter M.D. Read More »

History of Marshall County Dakota title page

History of White Township

White Township, with the exception of the spur of hills extending into the southern corner of the township from Miller township, is quite level. The Wild Rice slough runs through it to the north, Geo. W. White, originally from Ohio, came here from Richland county, Dakota, located his claim July 20, 1882. Wm. Linse, from Wilkin county, Minnesota, located his claim, Section 12, about or a short time prior to White‘s settlement. Nels Otland, on Section 14, was in all probability the first one in the township to commence improvements. The evidence on this point is very unsatisfactory and conflicting.

History of White Township Read More »

1910 Outline Map of Marshall County, South Dakota

Marshall County South Dakota Genealogy

Marshall County lies just south of the 46th parallel of north latitude, the proposed line of division between North and South Dakota, and west of the Sisseton and Wahpeton Indian Reservation; is bounded on the south by Day County and on the west by Brown County and is included in the Watertown U. S. Land District. Marshall County is twenty-four miles long from north to south, and twenty-four miles on its north boundary line, and thirty miles wide on its south boundary line, making an average width of twenty-seven miles. This area gives us 648 square miles or 414,720 acres

Marshall County South Dakota Genealogy Read More »

History of Marshall County Dakota title page

Organization of Marshall County

Marshall County was originally a part of Day County. In March, 1885, the legislature passed a bill to divide Day County and create Marshall County north of the township line of 124, and to be divided by a vote of the people, May 2d, 1885. Division was carried by a large majority, although there was bitter opposition in the southern part f what is now Marshall County. The bill provided that Marshal county shall assume the Day county indebtedness in proportion to the assessed valuation of the new county in 1884, which was one-third, and in the final adjustment of

Organization of Marshall County Read More »

Scroll to Top